Grandma

I’ve always had a special relationship with my grandmas.

My mom’s mom was nearby while I was young and I got to see her a lot and enjoyed talking to her and being treated like a princess.  She was often in very poor health and declined even more as I reached high school.  I have one picture of her with my mom and me that I love.  I’ll have to scan it sometime and post it here.  She crocheted and always had something pretty and colorful on her couch to brighten up her apartment.  Around the time I graduated from college, she moved to New York to be near her other daughter and I never saw her again.  She later moved into a nursing home and died shortly after that.  I always regret that she didn’t get to meet Carter or see her great-grandchildren and that they didn’t get a chance to know her.  But I love knowing that we will one day meet her in heaven and THEN she’ll get to meet them all.

My dad’s mom and dad lived farther away, but we still got to see them fairly often and of course, for all the holidays.  They had a farm until I was about 13 and I still have vivid, happy memories of “The Farm” and spending the night occasionally there.  My grandma died about two years ago and I have a blog post in memory of her here.

Now that MY grandmothers have both gone home, God has blessed me with another grandma…. Carter’s grandma.  His mom’s mom.  We hadn’t seen her in two years, but just this past month, we had a chance to visit his grandparents in Ohio.  I realized while I was there what a blessing grandmas really are.  Both of Carter’s grandparents had struggled with their health over the past year and I was prepared to see them not doing as well as we’d remembered.  But when we got there, they were both doing so well.  I was so thankful that they felt well and that we could visit.  It was a precious time.  I’ve always enjoyed visiting with Grandma…. she is a wonderful Christian lady and her “old-fashioned” ideas are so much like mine that we have more in common that you would think.  They both still live on their farm and while they don’t farm it anymore, it’s wonderful to visit and see the land and buildings and for our kids to sleep in the same rooms that Carter’s mom and aunts and uncle shared when THEY were children.  Godly heritage is such a wonderful thing.

Grandma, I love you dearly, and I’m so thankful for the visit we had!

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Family Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

