Ready for School?

Around here, schools either start tomorrow, August 2 or next Monday, August 9.  And times like this remind me how blessed we are to be homeschooling!  We shop the sales for good deals on school supplies, but we aren’t part of that mad dash between when the schools send out supply lists and the first day of school.  (Walmart ran out of lined notebook paper!  How does that happen?)

Getting ready for school

We will be starting school on August 23.  I knew we wouldn’t be starting on the 2nd OR the 9th.  The 9th is my birthday and there is NO WAY I’m starting school on or before my birthday!  🙂  Our usual tradition is to go visit my parents in Kentucky during Carter’s first week of school.  That way, he can stay as late as he needs to and focus 100% of his time and attention on school… and we don’t mind and he doesn’t feel guilty!  This year, we got back too late from our vacation to turn around and do that.  So we will be going in mid-August.  We’ll bring Mom back here to stay with us for a week.  I have a PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support) class to take and be recertified on the 19th, so she can watch the munchkins that day for me, too.  So it just made sense to start the next week.  Another benefit of homeschooling…. we can work school around the craziness of life in general, instead of working life around the craziness of school.

Trying to be organized!

I’ve always said that I wish I could take a weekend and go *somewhere* … anywhere… to get away from day-to-day responsibilities (i.e. LAUNDRY… and meals…) and focus on school planning.  I got the next best thing.  We already had childcare set up for Thursday and Friday since Carter and I both had to work.  We didn’t end up having any surgeries scheduled for Friday,  so  I stayed home, all by myself!  I cleaned up from breakfast and then blocked out the rest of the house and focused on planning.  I didn’t even stop for lunch.  I got SO much done!!!  I feel more ready for school than I ever have!  Of course, I have more to do, but the main part of planning and scheduling is done for the first few weeks.

Just a few of the kids' books!

I feel the way I felt the year we did all of our Christmas shopping before Thanksgiving.  Settled… immune from the frantic, last minute rush…. wondering why, oh, why, don’t I do this every year??

I took a picture, because once school starts... it won't look like that anymore!

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Family Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ready for School?

  1. Laurie says:

    LOVE your school room!!!
    And, what did you use for your planners? I HAVE to get organized…as our children get older, my responsibilities are changing, add in my online phone and website work, and my day becomes overwhelmingly busy!

    I need to add photos to my posts…but I have been putting my photos into the laptop, and don’t have a photo editing program in it…any suggestions for something..maybe free?? 😉

    • micandme says:

      I really like The Well-Planned Day, but what I have right now, is just a bunch of forms I’ve gathered from all over. I took all the various lesson plans out of my curriculum guides and 3-hole punched the first 40 lessons or so and put them in my planner notebook. I got some dividers with the pockets and put other forms, worksheets, etc., in there, so EVERYTHING is in the notebook (school-related). The other planner, is just my regular schedules and organizational things for around the house.

      There’s an online photo editing program that some of my friends use… picasa, I think. See what you think. Otherwise, I just resize if needed in the windows photo gallery (that might only be a Vista thing). 🙂 Hope that helps!

      Have fun! 🙂 ~Michelle

  2. Heather Powell Wood says:

    Hey college friend! Your homeschooling room looks great. I’ve got my lesson plans finished for aug & sept for our daughter Allyson and have lesson plans done for the 8th graders Lang. Class I teach at our local private school. My homeschooling room is coming along a little slower but it will get there. Funny how my nursing degree ended up being used……homeschooling mom and Language arts teacher! Ha!

    • micandme says:

      I didn’t know you homeschooled, too! 🙂 Don’t you wish now that we’d set up a 5- and 10- year plan when we were in college… I wonder how many of us are doing things completely different than we thought we would be!

  3. Jamica says:

    This is really great Michelle! I love this! The room looks wonderful and I adore this concept. You have inspired me!

  4. Laurie says:

    Thanks for your reply!
    I am planning to do some printing and organizing this weekend!
    I have used Picasa…but not sure I’ve figured it all out… 😉

    Thanks!
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

