Surprise!!!!

Poor Cassandra went out to the chickens to gather eggs and this is what she found….

So I pulled the box out and put it on the ground to get a better look.

Can you see that his mouth is completely around the egg?

If I’d had the presence of mind to let it munch, I’d have gotten pictures of it swallowing the egg.  🙂  But I didn’t think of that in time.  I scooped him up with the shovel (egg and all), but had to set it down and when I did, the egg rolled and he took off.

Not planning on letting go of that egg!

For future reference, Cyndi (my homesteading hero) told me to put it in a pillow case and take it to another wooded area away from our place and let it go.  I may need that advice, because now that he knows there are “free” eggs there, he might come back.

As for Cassandra, she doesn’t plan to go check for eggs for a while!

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Funny Moments, Homesteading, Outdoor Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surprise!!!!

  1. Jamica says:

    Wow! This is scary~ You were better than me with removing it! It would have still been there til this very moment , had it been me!

  2. what a find. my kids would have crying….”poor baby chicken, he’s being eaten”.

  3. Deanna Brown says:

    Oh my goodness~ I don’t know if I would have handled it that well. I have a desire to be able to handle it but not sure if I could. It’s not like I didnt grow up around things like this. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

