My Schedule

I call it a schedule, but it’s more of a framework… we can move faster if all is going well, but there are breaks scheduled in and time to catch up if we get behind.  Believe me, it’s so much easier for me now that my littlest one is 5!

First Day of School, Monday, August 23, 2010

7:30 – Kids up, dressed, beds made, hair combed

8:00 – Breakfast, teeth brushed, start chores (see below)

8:30 – Kids laundry (Cass), Kitchen duty (Em), Bathroom Duty (G)

9:00 – School starts; Math (Cass – one on one teaching); Spelling (Em – the girls are using an independent CD-based program); Worksheet (Garrett)

9:30 – Spelling (Cass); Math (Em – one on one teaching); Worksheet or free time (Garrett)

10:00 – History (Cass & Em – online independent); Math (Garrett – one on one teaching)

10:30 – Snack/Memory time (counting by 5s and 10s; memory songs, etc.)

11:00 – Language (Cass & Em – each can listen in on the other’s; then independent worksheet)

11:30 – Reading (Cass -independent); Phonics (Garrett – one on one); Catch-up or break time (Emma)

12:00 – Lunch

12:30 – Catch up if needed OR break

1:00 – Science (All – reading, then work on lapbooks)

2:00 – Break (Cass), Reading (Emma – out loud)

3:00 – Homework/Catch up/Finish!

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Schedule

  1. ann says:

    I like it. I wish I could plan something out for mine. I have 4 all under 8 years old and it is so hard for me to plan a timeline out. We start our first day of school on Monday. I think I might can play it by ear the first week just to see how it goes and what works better and what is not working at all and maybe by the second week get me a plan in action. I have a 4 and a 5 year old that I’m going to teach the same things to. Am mainly worried how that will go. We’ll see:)

    • micandme says:

      Yes, that would definitely be challenging!!! 🙂 But keep it fun. I think your idea to test the waters the first week and then see what’s going to work best is going to work well for you. I was thinking that I know how each of my children function best now, so it’s easier to plan a schedule that should work (for the most part). We do the more challenging “stuff” first while everyone (especially me!) is fresh. The more enjoyable things (hands-on, high-interest) we do later. I remember being happy if I could get an hour of good “school” time in at some point in the morning. Last year, I tried to incorporate Garrett into as much as possible, and discovered it was just better to let him join in when he wanted to than to try to force him to sit with us. Maybe a cop-out, but I prefer to think of it as survival. 😉 And this year will be different!

Leave a Reply

