Great Guesses, Everyone!

And the winner is…… DAWN!!! You’re right! They will be black swallowtail butterflies. Swallowtail caterpillars like fennel and parsley. That made it much easier to identify them. Monarchs like milkweed as my puzzled aunt mentioned in an email. And  those scary “horn-things” also emit a smell that Emma discovered wasn’t very pleasant! Planting herbs has brought many beautiful creatures to our garden — bees, ladybugs, butterflies (we have Monarchs around too!), etc., and we are enjoying watching all the flying things! Congratulations, Dawn… wish I had a nice prize for you and your hubby! 🙂

These are not my pictures, but ones that I found online.

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Outdoor Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great Guesses, Everyone!

  1. ann says:

    I was not thinking that one 🙂 I was trying to look it up in the kiddies big book of bugs and could not find one that color. Well, it sure was pretty anyways.

  2. Dawn says:

    LOL Seeing my name online was prize enough! 🙂 And I didn’t know about the smelly stuff. Thank Emma for finding out for me. HA! I’m glad you take so much joy in the beauty GOD give us, and that you are passing that on to your children. Good work!!

Leave a Reply

