Herbs

Basil, oregano, and lemon balm

My herbs are taking over my garden now that I’ve pulled out all my tomato plants and the melons and cucumbers are done.  So I went out and harvested some to dry.  The lemon balm, of course, is in the mint family so it takes over and goes wild in the garden.  I’d dried some a while back and I’ve been enjoying lemon balm and ginger tea lately.

The tomatoes had taken over one box and overshadowed my rosemary and lavender, so they’re a bit wimpy looking, not thriving like everything else, so I didn’t take any to dry.  But I did use some of the fresh rosemary on my roasted chicken last night.  I was so surprised by how much better it was than the dried rosemary.

I love how herbs can be used for so many things — for seasonings, teas, and medicinal purposes of course, but then they have the wonderful side benefits of drawing beneficial insects to the garden and, as weeds, thriving even when the rest of the garden starts to fade!

Last spring, I made a rosemary tincture that Carter, the non-believer in natural things, asks for when he feels like he’s coming down with “Something”.  It’s easy to make, and after researching ALL over the internet trying to find the right recipe, discovered that most people use this recipe…..

“Stuff a clean glass jar full of rosemary, fill jar with vodka, close jar and let sit in a dark place for 3-4 weeks.  Use [here’s where my nursing background cringes] 1/2 dropperful several times a day as needed to prevent and treat colds and flu.  Can also be used topically as an antiseptic [I’m guessing straight vodka could do the same thing! ;)].”   I use 1-2 teaspoons in a glass of ice water or iced tea 2-3 times a day.  It really does seem to help fight off colds.  At this point, that’s about the limit of my herbal medicine experience!

I’d highly recommend adding herbs to your garden… they’re easy to grow and the benefits are many.

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Homesteading, Outdoor Adventures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Herbs

  1. Dawn says:

    Your herbs look great! And I had to laugh that, although you cringe, you still use the ‘medicine’. Hahaha! Now that we’re getting settled in our house, I’m thinking next growing season may be the time to finally try my hand at some herbs. Rosemary & basil for sure… Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. micandme says:

    It’s all of the details and specifics (or lack thereof!) that make me cringe. I mean, what’s 1/2 dropperful??? Depends on how big your dropper is, I guess. And “several times a day”?? How often is that EXACTLY?? Guess it doesn’t matter so much… maybe? 😉

  3. Jill says:

    So glad your herbs did well.
    This was our first year trying to grow them. Unfortunately, they didn’t do well. My 15 yo dd, who was in charge of the herbs, has figured out what went wrong and plans to fix it for season.
    She enjoys researching and working with herbs and is looking to furthur her education in *natural healing / medicine*
    But first, we need to get thru her high school studies 😉

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for sharing. I hope to one day plant an herb garden. Stopping by from Raising Homemakers link up. I’m following. 🙂

  5. mykidzmomnow says:

    Such a sweet way to dry them – right across the dart board. LOVE it! Thank you for sharing through Raising Homemakers Homemaking Link-Up.

    Patty

Leave a Reply

