William Harris Homestead

Dotty and Judy... and me

I’m so honored to be part of the William Harris Homestead’s “team”!  Dotty and Judy in the above picture are the great-granddaughters of William and Harriet Harris, who moved to this homestead in 1836.  Dotty has continued the dream her mother had of restoring and making the Harris Homestead a treasure for everyone to enjoy.

Each week in the spring and fall, hundreds of school children come out for “A Day in the 19th Century”, and learn about the homestead, the family, Georgia history, the Civil War, and cotton.

Civil War Soldier

Learning about Herbs

History of the Homestead and Cotton

I will be helping Dotty with the indoor life, cooking, and cotton portion of the program.  I’m SO excited!  There’s a lot to learn, but when you have a chance to learn more about something you love, it’s not hard!  🙂

Weaving Demonstration

Rich Family Heritage

The William Harris Homestead was featured on WSB-TV (Atlanta) as one of Georgia’s Hidden Treasures.  Be sure to watch, and if you’re in the area, come on out for a visit.  The homestead is open to the public the first and third Saturdays each month.

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Outdoor Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to William Harris Homestead

  1. Dawn says:

    What a fantastic adventure for you!! I’m so glad you have the opportunity to participate in such an interesting event.

  2. Ann says:

    Looks like so much fun! Wish we lived in Georgia so I could take my kids there. I never tire of getting history lessons. Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. Jill says:

    This is only 30-45 minutes away from me. 🙂
    More info please!!! I looked on the website, but it is outdated. 😦
    Is this just the 1st and 3rd Saturdays of October???

    • micandme says:

      What did you see that was outdated? I’ll let Dotty know… I wasn’t able to find anything that wasn’t up to date.

      It’s open to the public from 10am-2pm the first and third Saturdays of each month. It’s $6/adult and $4/child (6-12 yrs. old). The school program is $9/student, but that is only with reservations and only Sept-Nov and March-May.

      I didn’t know you lived so close! 🙂

      ~Michelle

      • Jill says:

        I see now.
        I was reading old info from 2005. (silly me!)

        Hope to make it for one of the Nov Saturdays 🙂

  4. Jill says:

    PS – I didn’t know you were so close, either. LOL

Leave a Reply

