Starting Seeds Indoors!

Time for some updates!  We’ve had a busy several weeks here….  first, my gardening adventure.  I do have some green things showing up in my outside garden!  I was starting to wonder…..  As for inside, the fluorescent light (a simple under-cabinet light that my husband attached to a portable “frame”) has been amazing.  Here are my little plants, started from seed on February 25.  There are tomatoes, green peppers, basil, and cantaloupe in there….

March 3, different angle

March 3, different angle

 

March 3, six days after planting

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a week later….

March 10

March 10

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still can’t believe it!  I’ve never had indoor starts look this good.  Here are pictures from today….

March 15

March 15

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, my question for the gardening experts is…….. what AM I going to do with them for the next month?  I’m not set up to transplant 30 plants into larger pots!  But if that’s what I need to do, then I will.

I’m surprised (pleasantly) also that so many seeds actually sprouted.  I’m going to have to clip the weaker plant in each section (I don’t want to!) soon.  Only 2 or 3 sections failed to sprout either seed.

I credit Artistic Gardens for that fantastic rate.  I highly recommend their seeds.  You can get “sample packs” of 10-50 seeds for $.35 each.  I had plenty of each seed because I’m not a farm!  My seed order total was $12.50 (that included shipping) and included the 4 varieties of tomatoes and one variety each of green peppers, basil, and melon that you see in the pictures, as well as 2 varieties of beans, 4 varieties of lettuce, and feverfew, rosemary, calendula, radishes, cucumber, lemon grass, and peas!

So, if you have any advice about leaving the plants as they are or transplanting them, please leave me a comment!  THANKS!!  🙂

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting Seeds Indoors!

  1. neighbor look across the street lol says:

    hi neighbor,
    i cant tell exactly how big those containers are,
    it looks like the size you get plants in when you buy at a store.
    so pretend you are buying at a store, how big are those plants?
    they can be big.
    so you probably can leave them in there till you plant them.
    love ya, love your sight,
    your neighbor across the street.

    • micandme says:

      Hi, Neighbor!!! 🙂 Nice to hear from you! That’s true, they do cram a lot of plant into those little sections of a flat. I’ll keep that in mind! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

