Toe-Up Socks

I’ve found a way to knit socks that is much more enjoyable than the “traditional” cuff down way.  It’s “toe-up”.  My co-workers got a huge laugh out of that, because when I showed them and told them that they were “toe-up”, they thought I’d suddenly started “talking Southern” and was saying they were “tore up”.  Nope…. toe up.  See?

One thing I like about it is that I can try them on as I go and make sure I’m getting the size just right.  The other thing is that you really get the hard parts done first and then can just focus on the “leg” pattern.  The toe is done quickly and can be redone if needed.  The heel is harder to get the hang of, but I do have some good links for doing easy heel short-rows.  This video is probably the best, even though it’s not specifically for this pattern.

This is the first sock I’ve tried with an actual pattern to it.  It’s easy!  You can buy the pattern and download it for $3.99 – Quiet Morning Socks .  Or you can find it in the November 2010 issue of Creative Knitting.   I actually liked the look so much, I bought the exact yarn used for the model pair.  They’re turning out quite nicely, I think!

The real test will be if I actually get around to making the other sock (I really think I will!).  I’m known to make a sock and never make it’s mate!  Poor socks……

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toe-Up Socks

  1. Dawn says:

    I really enjoyed toe-ups when I had time to knit. You may want to investigate doing them two-at-a-time on a circular needle. It’s a bit confusing in the beginning, but that way you are guaranteed of having a pair when you finish!! 🙂

  2. Cary ann says:

    Those are gonna look great when your done! I wish I knew how to knit. It looks like alot of fun. I loved the picture of your family (on your other post). I know all your kiddies are getting so excited for the new arrival !! How nice to get to spend all that time with your mom. Hope you have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

