Work Day #2

We had another big work day today.  Another 83* day, too.  Almost too warm, but I refuse to complain!  🙂

We’d found strawberries for $1/quart at Walmart yesterday, so one of Cassandra’s jobs was to wash and cap them, so I could chop and freeze them.  I have three packs of strawberries to go with my freezer meals, now, and any more strawberries we buy, we can just enjoy.  We can’t PICK strawberries for that price.  I should have taken all they had. 🙂

Yummmmmmy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carter and Garrett worked more on my garden.  Some friends came out to help him get the railroad ties into position.  Many hands do make light work!  So my last box is now in the garden. The girls and I helped mix the vermiculite, compost, and peat moss together.  That was a project!  Ready for planting time, which will be in about 2-3 more weeks.

"Stuff" for our garden box + a load of mushroom compost... peeee-u!

Getting ready for a new box

Finished!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I asked our minivan what she’d like to be when she grows up and she said “A farm truck”.  😉

The cattle fence panels along the front box are going to be used for staking tomatoes.  We needed a stronger way to stake them because they were just pulling the round cages over when they got too big.  My friend Cyndi, from the Lazy B Farm, showed me the way they do it and we’re going to try it this year.

Emma was a big help today too!

Emma shopvac’ed the steps for me, vacuumed the basement, and worked on her room today, as well as helping mix the garden ingredients.  🙂  Poor Carter is now watching NCAA basketball and drinking Mountain Dew.  He took several Extra Strength Tylenol.  I hope he can crawl out of bed in the morning.  😉

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Homesteading, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Work Day #2

  1. Jill says:

    We need to have a *Garden Work-Day* and it won’t be a fun job.
    I do the square foot garden, but I need to raise those boxes off the ground because the Fire Ants have made homes in them. UGG!

    • Amber Cooper says:

      Orange oil can kill fire ants and is not toxic to your plants. I used some in my strawberry bed when we had that problem. It killed some; the rest moved out; and the strawberries were not harmed.

  2. Cary ann says:

    That was a great price for those strawberries! There about $2.50 here. What a fun work day you had. Nothing makes me happier than having a work day with my family. We bought rail road ties the other day and boy are they heavy. I couln’t even budge one ! It all looks great and know you are so proud of all you got accomplished. And what beautiful little helpers you had! Hope you have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

