Bake Your Brown Rice!

My sweet neighbor sent me this recipe and I remembered that this is how I used to cook brown rice.  None of my pans have tight/heavy lids for cooking rice well. The water usually just boils away and I end up burning my rice.   A lot of people don’t really like the taste of brown rice, but cooked this way, it’s fantastic!!!  When I served it this way for my mom-in-law, she kept asking me if I was sure this was brown rice.    😉

Anyway, my neighbor told me I should post it here since she’d never heard of cooking rice this way and probably a lot of other people haven’t.  So here you go, Pam!   And thank you for the reminder!!  🙂

Baked Brown Rice

SERVINGS :4
TIME: 1 HR 5 MIN.
Ingredients
a.. 1 1/2 cups brown rice, medium or short grain
b.. 2 1/2 cups water
c.. 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
d.. 1 teaspoon kosher salt
Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Place the rice into an 8-inch square glass baking dish.

Bring the water, butter, and salt just to a boil in a kettle or covered saucepan. Once the water boils, pour it over the rice, stir to combine, and cover the dish tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour.

After 1 hour, remove cover and fluff the rice with a fork.  Serve immediately.

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bake Your Brown Rice!

  1. I like this! Have to try it later.

    Not to be directly off topic, but have you ever owned a rice cooker? My brother and his wife have one, and swear by it. They use it every couple of days, from the way they talk. I know she makes her own sushi (with vegetables, not really with fish), but I can’t see anyone eating rice that often. Not enough to justify buying a machine.

    But it would make the job a lot easier…

  2. Cary ann says:

    I’m gonna tag this post and try this recipe next week. I have several bags of brown rice I was needing to use up…and I do not make good rice on the stove top. Thank you (and your neighbor) for sharing 🙂 Have a great weekend..

  3. Laurie says:

    Hey there!
    I bake my rice as well. SO much better than stove-top methods!
    However, I don’t get the water boiling first, I just combine everything (same recipe that you use) and put it in the oven. If we’re having chicken, I’ll add chicken soup base (from Sam’s), same with beef. Or sometimes, I’ll put little pieces of broccoli in it.

    We used to have a rice cooker, and honestly, this baking method produces a much better rice than the rice cooker did. 🙂

  4. I think I landed on your blog from Carrie McGarry’s blog (gratefulbambina). I’m glad I did because I can’t seem to convince my wife to switch the brown rice. Maybe this recipe is the answer?

    Thanks!

    • micandme says:

      Welcome! Hope it works. 🙂

      Did you set up the whole homeschool compliance thing? We homeschool mommies LOVE IT! I used to always be late sending in my attendance, either because I forgot or because I couldn’t find a stamp! Thanks!

      ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

