Things I Love About GA

Most of you probably know that I’m a northern-born girl.  I grew up in Michigan.  Right along Lake Michigan.  Very pretty, but very wild and very COLD.

The summers were beautiful but lasted only about 3 months.  The winters were pretty for the first few weeks.  But winter lasted the other 9 months!  The lake was wonderful in the summer, kept cool breezes blowing, so it didn’t get TOO hot, usually.  And I did love the wildness of the lake in the fall…. November was an especially wild month on the lake.  We lived about 1/4 mile from the lake, and when we opened our back door, we could hear the constant roar of the waves crashing.

The lighthouse where I grew up - this is not my picture, but you can click to see more pictures of Michigan.

Sunsets over the lake were amazing.

Not my photo either, but most sunsets were just as beautiful.

But the lake also brought a phenomenon known as “lake-effect snow”.  As a child, I loved the snow for about 2 months.  The more, the better.  Oh, it was so pretty.  But…. oh, it lasted so much longer than it should have!  The lake also brought humidity and overcast skies.  One winter when I was in high school, I think we went 45 days without seeing the sun….. that’s not good for ANYONE’S mental health!

After I grew up and got married, I learned that there are other things about winter that aren’t much fun… especially when you have to deal with it for 8 or 9 months straight.  Things like…. driveways that need to be shoveled, cars that need to be brushed off, cars that need to warm up, cars that don’t start because it’s so cold, floors that get wet and slippery because the snow on the boots melts into cold puddles everywhere, and that awful feeling of stepping on a mostly melted chunk of snow that fell onto the carpet and getting socks wet and cold.

So I love Georgia for all the things it DOESN’T have…. but I also love living in Georgia for so many things it does have.  Like…

Lantana….. I’d never seen a flower with multiple colors in each cluster like these do.  I’ve seen purple/pink, and these yellow/orange…. Also, azaleas, crepe myrtles, and knockout roses!

The long growing season….. peas planted in late February or early March, and tomatoes in the ground and growing like crazy by mid-April.  I sent all my leftover seeds up to a friend in Marquette, MI….. it would be too late to plant them here, but up there… they’re just getting started.  Worked out well for both of us.  My seeds didn’t go to waste and she got some free seeds.  🙂

I did mention gardening, flowers, growing things, warm weather, and no more snow or “wintry mix” in April, didn’t I?

Other things I love about living in Georgia….. bluebirds!  I never saw many bluebirds in MI, but they’re all over the place here.  Such a beautiful color.

And… SUNSHINE!  All winter long, I can open my curtains and let sunshine warm up the house.  It is good for my general mood and good on the heating bill, even when the weather is cold (it DOES get cold here!).  In the summer, I chuckle, because I find myself wishing for just ONE cloudy day…. I didn’t think it was possible to have too much sun, when I lived in MI.

And the mountains… drive north an hour or two and we can be into the cooler mountains of northeast GA.  A whole new type of beauty and new things to discover.

Yes, it does get very hot here and sometimes very dry.  Yes, sometimes it is very humid.  Yes, we have bigger bugs (not THAT much bigger, though).  And yes, sometimes, it even snows!

But I’m happy to be here.  When we first moved to Georgia, I thought that of all 50 states, Georgia probably would have ranked about 45th on the list of places I’d like to live.  Now…… I wish I could move everyone I love here so they could enjoy the beauty and warmth of this state!

Edited 4/28/11 :  The round of storms last night did not affect us at all.  Quite often, the line of storms will disintegrate when it gets to Atlanta.  Apparently that’s what happened last night.  We’re so thankful for safety for our family and for our friends in this area.  Our hearts and our prayers go out to those in TN, KY, AL, Northwest Georgia, MS, and other areas that lost homes and loved ones.

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Homesteading, Outdoor Adventures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Things I Love About GA

  1. Marnita says:

    I live in MN and we had snow last night. I alway say I want to move south around the month of December. Love your pictures.

  2. Jill says:

    Yes, prayers for those who lost so much during those storms last night.

    My Mom lives in Alabama, just north of Birmingham. Her town got hit…she is ok.

    AND…Prayers of thanks that we are safe.
    Tornado warning for us came around 12:30am and lasted an hour. We don’t have a storm cellar or basement, so we hunkered down in the hall with pillows and blankets, radio and flashlights. Very loud and strong, vibrating all the walls and windows…and us!
    Thankfully, the storm and tornado that was in direct line to hit us, veered east just as it got to us.
    Another close call.
    We thank our Heavenly Father for His protection.

    Glad ya’ll are safe.

  3. Diane says:

    We live in the North GA mountains and wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. Beautiful area. Glad you are enjoying living in Georgia also. The storms usually dissipate by the time it reaches this area also. Lots of rain last night and some lightening and thunder. One tornado warning at 11:00. My prayers are also with the families that have lost loved ones in this tragic weather.
    Blessings
    Diane

  4. Joy says:

    What a lovely post full of gratitude! I was born in Colorado, raised in Texas, and now live in Missouri. After living in Texas for 11 years (we were in Austin, and in 11 years we never had any snow or even ice, once!), I was so happy to move here, where we get to fully enjoy all four seasons! We are farther south in the state, though, so we do have very hot, humid summers. I am really thankful for air conditioning! 🙂

    I love all your pictures of growing things!

Leave a Reply

