Busy, Hot, and Tired

….. and that pretty much describes May!  What a wild month around here.  Carter’s life gets so very busy the last month or so of school, which means I’M busy keeping KIDS busy! But Daddy still has time to do some special things with his boy…. like show him how to safely use a BB gun…. and to stage a picture for the sole purpose of getting his grandma riled up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

May has been very hot and dry here in NE Georgia.  We didn’t get any measurable rain here in May until a storm on Thursday night brought us about an inch.  No tornadoes around, but the straight-line winds were strong enough to convince me to move down stairs with the kids for a while.  The next morning, our yard was covered in small branches, and many trees were down in the area.  Again, we’re thankful for safety this stormy spring!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We picked strawberries at the beginning of may and enjoyed turning most of them into jam.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Emma and Cassandra had their standardized testing the second week in May, and that seemed to go well.  So far, they don’t get too stressed out by testing and see it as a welcome break to “normal school”.

 

I’ve been babysitting off and on for a little 2 year old boy, swapping babysitting with some friends.

 

 

 

In between all of that, I’ve been spinning an order of yarn in exchange for some cloth diapers.  That has taken longer than I anticipated, and quite possibly she’s getting the better end of the deal!  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been playing around with dyeing yarn and wool, too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of cloth diapers, I’ve been building up my supply of diapers, and washing and washing and washing new diapers to get them ready for Anna’s arrival.  I didn’t realize it took so much washing to get unbleached cotton “ready”!  Most of what I have are second-hand diapers and don’t need much “prepping”.

 

 

 

I knitted a wool cover “for fun”, since I don’t really know if I’m going to use wool covers, but it turned out cute.  I had dyed some white wool, and wasn’t sure I liked it, but once it was knitted up, I thought it was ok.

 

 

Last week was Carter’s finals week which means tons of grading, and late nights at school for baccalaureate and graduation.  Friday, he watched the kids for the morning while I went to a used book sale.  That was fun!  I rarely get to do much shopping all by myself and I knew for a curriculum sale, I’d need a chance to think and wander at my own pace.  It was wonderful…. found a lot of really good deals and fun stuff to try.

In the midst of all of this, I am feeling pretty good.  Tired and huge and tired of being pregnant, but otherwise, my back is doing pretty well and Anna seems happy and lively in her little cozy room.  We’re all getting very excited to meet her.  One month and 2 days and she’ll be here!

 

 

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

