Great Smoky Mountain Railroad

My parents bought us tickets to ride on the GSMRR with them.  We knew we’d have to squeeze the trip in between Carter’s last day of school and “too late” to be traveling 3 hours from home before Anna is born!  We chose June 6.  My parents headed out from KY and we headed out from home, taking some scenic drives.  We met up in Bryson City, NC on Sunday and checked into our motel.  After the kids swam in the pool for a while, we went out to eat at Pizza Hut.

On the way to Bryson City, between Highlands and Franklin, NC

Waiting.... and waiting.... for our pizza....

Mom and Dad 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Monday, we headed over to the train depot.  We had some time to visit a neat bookstore just across from the depot.  I found so many books I would have liked to bring home with me!  We boarded the train around 10am and left around 10:30.

Cass and Daddy

Talking Trains

There weren’t many people on the open air cars.  It had been pretty hot, but the breeze and the shade on the cars kept it absolutely beautiful.  The scenery along the way was unbelievable.

Fontana Lake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We stopped for lunch at the Nantahala Outdoor Center.  We got to see lots of white water rafters on the river.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After lunch, we headed back.  It was getting quite warm by this time and I got fewer pictures on the way back!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got back to Bryson City, we parted ways, and set out for home.  Mom and Dad will be down at the end of the month to watch the girls and Garrett when Anna is born.  Thanks for the trip, Mom and Dad!  🙂

About micandme

Homeschool mommy to three munchkins, ages 9, 7, and 5. Christ-follower, nurse, wife, knitter, spinner, crafter, camper, hiker, people-pleaser, homesteader-wanna-be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great Smoky Mountain Railroad

  1. Thanks for posting this. My brother lives in Highlands and through all the years of visiting, would you believe I’ve never taken are kids on the Railway. You’ve inspired me. Thanks for photos.

    I’d love to rent the houseboat on Fontana Lake too! 🙂

  2. My son have loved this. He’s a tad obssessed with trains! LOL. Thanks for visiting Taylor Made Home and leaving a comment! Love your idea of “room checks” before family time. I hope it continues to serve your family well!

  3. Lori says:

    We are hoping to go this fall. My sister has talked about the views for several years now, so we have started planning.

  4. Cary ann says:

    I know you are all excited for little Anna to get here! What great helpers the kids are gonna be! Your garden looks great as well. I have never thought about shredding and freezing the zuc. squash. I will have to try that. Do you try to press all the water out first? That looked like a fantastic trip you all took! How thoughtful of your parents. I might have to take my kiddies on a trip there someday. Hope you have a great week 🙂
    Many Blessings,
    Cary Ann

Leave a Reply

